03.04.2013 Two more ice abstracts

Winter is just about done.  We may get a little snow Wednesday, but for the most part the melting continues and it should not be long before we see some spring bulbs prettying up the yard.  For the time being, I still have a bit of winter to share.  I am finding myself drawn more to black and white photography lately.  Color certainly adds a lot of beauty to an image, but presenting an image in monochrome allows more emphasis on shapes and patterns.  They can also be appreciated well in color, but the removal of color may place a bit more emphasis on the relationships within the image.  So here is one B&W and one color image for your entertainment.  In all honesty, there really wasn’t any color to speak of in number one anyway.

One more from the boat cove.Spillway-Boat-Cove-Ice-3-022313-800FB

 

 

Getting even more intimate with the landscape, here are a bunch of frozen bubbles with some prismatic effect.Frozen-Bubbles-2-Blog

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 03.04.2013 Two more ice abstracts

  1. Andrew says:

    Very nice Steve, especially the upper image. I think the choice of monochrome works well in it and the strong contrast is perfect for this.

    Like

  2. Greg Russell says:

    Really wonderful images, Steve! Like Andrew, I really like the top image–great patterns and it’s just abstract enough. Monochrome was a good choice.

    The bottom image is interesting as well. I haven’t seen that sort of prismatic effect in ice before…I like it!

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    I like all four photos (incl. the two from the previous post) but the second photo of this post is a blast and a winner!
    Nice monochrome work.

    Like

  4. These are striking, Steve. I like the first one here and the two in the previous post too. Black and white suits you well. On a different ice note, that one in the post below of Waconah Falls is a real keeper too. I’m glad I stopped here to take a look. Great work.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by to check these out David. I am glad you did also. The ice fall is a subject I have worked on a few times at various locations.. They are so interesting and chaotic. I am enjoying working from a black and white perspective….. a bit challenging but quite enjoyable.

      Like

  5. Hi Steve,
    I love both, and am interested to see what you do with black and white. But, that said, I really love the second. It is a wonderfully intimate composition. With really nice colors, subtle but compelling.
    James

    Like

    • Thanks James. No worries on the second…I don’t envision that being converted to B&W but then again sometimes these very colorful images work well in monochrome also. I have converted a few trilliums that look quite striking despite the lack of color.

      Like

Leave a Reply

