02.23.2013 Nothing ventured nothing gained

Odd title.  Well, it fits.  This morning the sky was solid overcast…grey as a grey card.  Flat and dull.  I thought about staying home and catching up, as if, on all my metadata and cataloging or putting together a submission.  But that was the easy way out.  So I set out to see what happens.

In addition to the light, the temperature was above freezing and the ice had been melting and now was soft without much detail.  I thought of lichen patterns on rocks as a possibility.  But as I drove around Quabbin Park I did not see much of interest until I reached the boat cove by the spillway.  Some patterns in the ice sheet caught my eye.  There had been areas that had pulled apart during the melt and I thought some might be worth working.

This was what first caught my eye.Spillway-Boat-Cove-Ice-2-022313-800FB I liked the fissures and the crusty frosted ice .                As I looked around, I noticed the edge pattern and thought it was so graphic and interesting.Spillway-Boat-Cove-Ice-022313-800FB

Stealing a phrase from  my good friend, Andrew…there you have it.  My morning avoiding the office work and enjoying a bit of lousy light.  I hope you like the images.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 02.23.2013 Nothing ventured nothing gained

  1. Andrew says:

    I think the second image is very strong, Steve and so much better than office work. I’d love to see some lichen shots from you. I find lichens look brilliant when wet. There you have it.

    Nice post.

    Like

  2. Greg Russell says:

    Wow, both of these are fantastic images, Steve. I really like the strong graphic nature of each, and the geometric lines just put each image over the top. I’d say you did well by heading out despite the conditions!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Interlude and media test | All downhill from here

  4. Wow again. So interesting with the odd patterns of the ice. Good work as they say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

