01.27.2013 More Ice

I may be saying that for a while.  Maybe.  Although we had a week of very nice cold freezing temperatures that created a lot of ice, there is a warm up on its way and Wednesday will hit the mid 50sF so who knows.

My go to is Quabbin Gate 30 in New Salem and I was not disappointed yesterday.  There were a few of these shaped icicles that reminded me of bracket fungi.Ice-Polypores-012613-800FB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This morning I drove out to Dalton to visit Wahconah Falls and on the way back stopped in Windsor State Park to check out the East Branch of the Westfield River.  As I drove along the river I noticed a hole in the solid ice with some icicles hanging below.  Always a very nice find.Ice-Sculptures-in-Windsor-State-Forest-012713-800FB

More ice to follow.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 01.27.2013 More Ice

  1. These are very pretty. I just can’t see how in the world the ice forms in such interesting shapes and unusual patterns.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I think the bracket fungi image is rather special. One of your very best although I’m not hugely smitten by the blue tint. I’d like to see this in simple monochrome.

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Both are lovely images and the “ice lanterns” are great. I do like the blue tones because they emphasize the cool mood but I also agree with Andrew that pure monochrome would suit the ice, too.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Strangely enough I have worked on 2 ice images today and the end results look very different to one another. Both are colour (so far anyway) and the biggest challenge is getting the blue tones right. If there is a right! I must try them in “tinted monochrome”.

    Like

  5. Gail Platz says:

    I love the various shapes of ice along rivers. The blue color works fine, as that’s how it is, especially in the shade.

    Like

  6. Greg Russell says:

    Gorgeous work Steve. It’s because of you I’ve started looking at the patterns in ice…amazing intimate landscapes are hidden in there!

    Like

  7. slnormanphotography says:

    Awesome photos Steve!! I’m glad you finally got your ice 🙂 I was prepared to go out yesterday morning to take some ice shots…all the snow and ice had melted!! It’s now 57 degrees here in Ohio 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

