12.22.2012 Dean Brook Cascade

It is almost the end of the year and there has been nothing frozen to photograph yet.  This is becoming an unhappy trend the last several years and after seeing “Chasing Ice” last weekend I am more convinced than ever that our changing climate is the reason for this.  It didn’t take much convincing really, but the movie has a powerful impact.  I recommend it enthusiastically.

So I am posting an autumn image with something frozen….a cascade crashing on a rock creating a nice splashing effect.  This is from Dean Brook in Shutesbury.  It is a favorite place and brings back strong memories of time spent there during my college years with friends relaxing and doing what we did back in the ’60s.  The brook bed is solid rock and there are many cascades through this particular section and that is what we called it…The Cascades. Dean-Brook-Cascade-frozen-splash-Blog

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Environment., Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 12.22.2012 Dean Brook Cascade

  1. Everett Davis says:

    Steve, what a wonderful image. It makes me want to be there.

    Like

  2. A truly beautiful photograph. I can see the moss and lichens on the rocks. The movement of the water falling over the cliff is captured just right.

    Like

  3. James Hunt says:

    Hi Steve
    First of all, great image, in all respects. Alas, you can really see the changing climate in central New England. My least favorite: you still have to be ready to deal with tics, even in December. Let us hope (perhaps in vain) for a better New Year.
    James

    Like

    • Hi James. Thanks! Yes, ticks are something we could very well do without. I have never quite figured out their ecological value except passing the various viruses, bacteria and parasites along their way…..certainly of dubious value I would say.
      Best wishes for a fine 2013 to you and your wife, James.

      Like

  4. Reading about James Balog has been an inspiration. I look forward to seeing the film. Seems to be a tremendous buzz about it in the media online and off. I’m glad to hear it inspired you though, because that gives me a reference for someone I know who enjoyed it. I like the photo above with the spray, which substitutes just fine for something frozen. Interesting to find out you have also had a warm Fall. We never had a hard frost until December. We usually get our first hard frost in September.

    Like

    • Hi David. Yes, absolutely see the movie. It is both beautiful and frightening to see the glaciers literally falling apart or just melting away. That they might do that to some degree naturally is undeniable, but the acceleration at which this is happening is very discouraging. I believe he has shown that the rate of glacial shrinkage is not happening at a natural pace.
      Yoicks! We are due for some snow tonight and tomorrow. There is a chance there may be sleet and since I took a day off to go out in it and try some photography that is probably what we will get….sleet and rain. We’ll see. 🙂
      Our killing frost was late this year. Amazingly, my wife’s parsley plant is still producing sprigs for us.

      Like

  5. tomwhelan says:

    Lovely image, you have the best Massachusetts brooks up your way. I’ll have to check out Chasing Ice…

    Like

  6. Mark says:

    Nice image Steve. I completely agree with you that everyone should see Chasing Ice. I only hope that it opens a few more eyes for those that have had them closed all these years.

    Like

  7. Greg Russell says:

    Fantastic image, Steve, and thanks for the recommendation on the movie!

    Like

  8. slnormanphotography says:

    Beautiful image, Steve. I’m adding Chasing Ice to my list of “must see” movies. The more people that see the movie, the more eyes that will be opened…hopefully. It’s truly a shame that some of the most majestic scenery won’t be around for our grandchildren to see.

    Like

  9. quabbinite says:

    Nice cascade! Where in Shutesbury can I find this place? It seems as though Shutesbury has a lot of hidden treasures. Perhaps I should spend some time there exploring 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks quabbinite. It is in the middle of Sand Hill Road on the South side just West of the power lines. It is Town of Amherst water resource and the site of an old mill with the stone chimney still present.

      Like

Leave a Reply

