11.28.2012 Sunrise Subtlety

I guess I have been dragging my feet a little and shamefully have not kept up with my posting.  No good excuse.  I’ll try to do better.  So I will share a bit of Autumn long after most others have done so.

Here is an image from early one morning in New Salem, Massachusetts.  Sue Cloutier told me about the apple farm there with a great view of the north end of the Quabbin Reservoir and, as with this post, I took a bit too long to arrive.  The autumn color was starting to fade a bit, but the warm light of the sun just topping the horizon highlighted the trees in the yard for some nice colorful highlights looking out over the Quabbin and the low mists atop the distant hills.  I guess it is not really very subtle but maybe a bit reserved for Autumn colors.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 11.28.2012 Sunrise Subtlety

  1. Just got around to looking at email and I have viewed your post. The scene is very pretty. I did not know that Mass. had hills or mountains like that. I think this is a really nice capture even if the colors are a tad muted. I certainly like looking at the picture.

    Like

  2. Dee Davis says:

    Regardless of your comments to the contrary, I find this image to show incredible depth with wonderful tonalities. The autumn colors are not harsh at all. Nice job Steve.

    Like

    • Some times my comments are a little tongue-in-cheek, Dee. 🙂 This is a nice location although the variety of compositions is a bit limited. There is an apple orchard to the right of the image and I will be working in there during a sunrise someday. Good cider there too. Thanks for the comment and critique.

      Like

  3. Contrary to your modest introduction, I find this a strong image in that the look is different from most Fall color. I like the overall composition, especially with the distant ridges, lake and sky tinted with pastels while the foreground keeps the primary colors.

    Like

    • Thank you for leaving a comment David. I can’t put my finger on the artist, but this light and color reminded me of a painting by someone from a few centuries ago. Wish I could recall the name. Thanks for sharing what you like about the image. I always appreciate hearing what people see. 🙂
      I hope all is well in California and that your exhibits and gallery showings have been very fruitful.

      Like

  4. Andrew Hardacre says:

    Beautifully balanced, Steve, in composition, tones and light.

    Like

  5. quabbinite says:

    Steve, this is a beautiful view and a beautiful photograph. Don’t worry about not posting much lately. We are in the throws of the Holiday Season and so far this week, I have posted 3 entries (more than I have ever posted in one week) yet I have had fewer views this week than ever before. Ironic, wouldn’t you say?

    Like

    • Thanks. There may be something to that, but I find the blog visits vary from time to time. I have actually been getting some good traffic despite not posting and at other times when I post more frequently I get less. So I guess ironic can apply. 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: 12.19.2012 Mount Monadnock and North Quabbin | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

