09.02.2012 Laurel Lake at Dawn

Before getting into the image, I am sorry that there has been a requirement to log in order to comment.  I hope I have fixed that so it will no longer be required.  If I have not solved that please let me know. I believe it is now optional although you will not be identified for a link back to your own blog. I will see if there is a way around that.  Now to the image…

Yesterday I had the pleasure of meeting one of my Facebook friends, Terry Babij, in Pittsfield for an early morning shoot.  We were hoping to photograph the full moon over Laurel Lake in Lee, Massachusetts but a large cloud formation was blocking the moon.  We ended up on the other side of the lake and saw a nice possibility for the sunrise with the formerly offending clouds now an advantage.  Given time, nature will often present us with something even if it is not what we planned.  Cue the Rolling Stones…”You don’t always get what you want….”

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 09.02.2012 Laurel Lake at Dawn

  1. Mark says:

    Dynamic clouds, flat calm lake… certainly a nice consolation prize!

    Like

  2. I lived in West Stockbridge, Massachusetts for eight months in 2000-2001. Reading here about Lee and Pittsfield and seeing your tranquil photograph of Laurel Lake reminds me how gorgeous it is there in the Berkshires.

    Like

  3. Greg Russell says:

    This is a really gorgeous image, Steve. I love those clouds and the colors are really lovely. A nice consolation prize indeed!

    Like

  4. This is fantastic scenery. Such a beautiful sunrise. The colors in the clouds are dramatic.

    Like

  5. The concave upward arc of pastel clouds is quite something. Well done.

    Like

  6. Office Diva says:

    Green Heron Steve: I have no witty words here, just several inadequate ones to say “how stunning”! Also, I great admire your ability to get up at an ungodly hour to capture such wonderful scenery so that the rest of us sluggards can continue to slap the daylights out of our clocks. Gorgeous!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Ms. Diva. Well, if insomnia is to be admired…. 🙂 It’s not actually insomnia but an age old habit since childhood when I had a paper route. And our dogs have always expected to be fed very early out of summer’s habit with the 5 am sunrise time. Sleep is getting more desirable with age though. 🙂 “Slap the daylights out of our clocks”. 🙂 I like that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

