07.21.2012 Quabbin Reservoir with a little Atmosphere

I headed out to the Pelham Overlook of the Quabbin with little expectation as Amherst and lower Pelham had been socked in pretty solid with fog.  But as I climbed Pelham Hill to Rt. 202 it cleared and I could see the sun had risen.  I thought not much was going to happen but then the light got very nice for a few minutes as the sun rose above the clouds in the distance.

Please click the image for a larger view.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.21.2012 Quabbin Reservoir with a little Atmosphere

  1. James Hunt says:

    Hi Steve
    Bravo! I was there this morning but much later than you! I have always thought that there must be a way to make these overlook shots work but you made it happen. This is a stunning image particularly for those of us who love the Quabbin. My hat is completely off, (you may be able to detect a little envy too !:)
    James

    Like

    • Hi James. Thanks very much for the enthusiastic comment. I’m sorry to have missed you there. I’ve shot this spot a few times but this was the first with such wonderful light. I was surprised that I couldn’t find any images on Google from here. Now there is one.

      Like

  2. Carol Smith says:

    Beautiful image Steve!!

    Like

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Ah, Quabbin.Not a word I hear every day living in the Northeast of the state. That place has always fascinated me. I wish someone would take a camera underwater and show what’s left (if anything) of the ‘underwater city’. The schoolhouse from there is on Little Alum Pond where my parents have a summer cottage.

    Lovely image. Thanks for the memories! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Tracy. Thanks for the kind comment.

      Someone has! http://www.shoppbs.org/product/index.jsp?productId=3979051 I imagine you may also find the video available either through your library or it’s CWMars connection. It is a very cool video showing much of what still remains below the water as well as some history and archival images pre-flooding. The same diver has done videos of the Connecticut River, below as well as the River’s history and the great flood although these may not be as interesting to someone from the eastern part of the state.

      Like

      • milkayphoto says:

        How neat is that?! I didn’t know such a video existed! I know both my husband and I, as well as our relatives who still live in Western Mass, would certainly find the DVD so interesting! Thanks for the link! 🙂

        Like

  4. Great photo. In my experience, this is what happens when you are out there a lot, with patience, watching carefully, rather than judging too much whether to stay or go.

    Like

  5. Greg Russell says:

    Gorgeous image, Steve! I’m glad you went out. And, to address David (above), I almost always make the wrong choice when I am forced to decided whether to stay or go….so I usually just go (just in case). It pays off sometimes!

    Like

    • Thanks Greg!
      Loving nature, we can’t go wrong by being out there. I think that too often we let getting the shot trump the enjoyment part which is why we photograph nature rather than some other subject that meets our expectations more reliably. 🙂

      Like

  6. Mark says:

    Really nice overlook Steve. I know the feeling you describe about those moments where you think nothing is going to happen. Most of me is just appreciative of being out there, but I can’t deny that smaller side that is always hoping for a shot of a lifetime to cross my path.

    Like

    • Thanks Mark. I think you are describing many of us who are nature photographers. Being out there is what got us started. But definitely, we all wish we could get that one shot. And I think many of us have. We just want more of them. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

