05.24.2012 Mount Lizzie

I’ve been fascinated by Mount Lizzie and have taken several different views over time but not nearly as many as I intend.  I took the long way to get to this vantage point and by the time I was done had collected quite the population of ticks.  No harm no foul, but next time I spray myself.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.24.2012 Mount Lizzie

  1. That is just simply a perfect image Steve. The rocks are stepping stones deeper into the image, and the blue in the reflection guides the way. Bravo!

    Like

  2. milkayphoto says:

    A truly beautiful, calm, serene image, Steve!

    Needs a better title, tho. 😉 How ’bout, “Two Steps to Mount Lizzie”?

    Funny about the bugs/ticks…oh what we go thru to get a shot! Take care next time! 🙂

    Like

  3. The rocks protruding from the water in the foreground look as if they’re floating.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. Carol Smith says:

    What a beautiful composition with some wonderful reflections. Well done Steve!

    Like

  5. Frank says:

    Really nice composition. I wonder if I would have seen or been able to take advantage of those foreground rocks. Well done!

    Like

  6. Greg Russell says:

    Very nice Steve! Like I said elsewhere, I really like the lake here, with the sweet reflection; the rest is just icing on the cake.

    Boo on ticks. I like to avoid places where I can get them, but don’t always get so lucky…

    Like

    • Thanks Greg. This is the place I have mentioned on David’s blog that once was four towns and then taken for the Quabbin Reservoir to supply Boston with some drinking water.
      Yeah, I am not a fan of ticks…who is except maybe a tick entomologist? :-)…but am constantly treading in their world. Maybe I should spend some time in the desert. 🙂

      Like

  7. quabbinite says:

    Mount Lizzie always makes a nice picture but it’s hard to get a good angle on it considering its proximity to what is “in-bounds” in the Quabbin. Great shot here…..love the foreground. I have a few pictures of Pomeroy I’ve posted to my blog from a boat. It’s my favorite Quabbin island, seconded only by Mt Russ. I have more of Pomeroy I’ll be posting in the future as well, but seeing this photo I may have to try to capture a few Lizzie-pics now! Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

