03.26.2012 Gunn Falls revisited

Yikes!  Steve Schwartzman mentioned to me that I haven’t posted since February 10th.  It’s been slow times for photography hereabouts for me and I haven’t had much to say in that time either.  I’ll try to do a little better with my contributions as Spring expands.  Thanks Steve for your concern and the timely poke.

I’ve mentioned that I like to visit the same locations often and try to find a different way to see my favorite subjects.  Gunn Falls is a one of those places, not only for the waterfalls, but the proximate ledges bear several Spring wildflowers which should start to present themselves in the next week or two.  We’ve had some wonderfully warm weather, but they have not quite been sold on the time being right and a good thing as we will fall into the teens tonight.

Last weekend I visited once again and came away with this view of the falls.  I was looking for something a bit different from the usual full frame of the water and thought a composition including the upper level would make for a nice change.  I hope you like it.

It was a rainy day with a bit of fog for some subtle mood.  As you can see, it’s not a clear line of sight and this is about the only angle, requiring a perch half way up the slope, that works to include all the falls.

The two trees on the right side are actually hanging over my position on the side of the hill and are holding each other upright.  I guess a good strong windy storm in the not too distant future will cause them to fall across the water.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Environment., Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 03.26.2012 Gunn Falls revisited

  1. I really like the peak at the upper falls, Steve. The leaning trees and long lines of the ledges make for a beautiful composition. As one of your blog readers, I can say that this was worth the wait.
    Sharon

    Like

    • Thanks very much Sharon. I appreciate the kind words and you keeping a watch on my blog.
      I’m sorry we are not able to comment on your posts but I am checking in. “Solitude” is a very lovely image as is your dynamic capture of “Evening Waves-Nantucket”. Nice hat. 🙂
      I’ll try not to keep you waiting as long before my next post.

      Like

  2. What a beautiful shot, Steve. You have so much patience, returning to sites and looking for the angle you like.

    Like

  3. Mark says:

    I like the peek you give to the upper portion of the falls Steve. It provides a nice depth to this shot.

    I know the feeling about not having much to write about. I have been the same way. It was only this weekend where I did more shooting than I have in months. I am feeling a bit of the creative energy return, so I hope it stays around for awhile.

    Like

  4. And I’ll be the third to chime in about the added value of that little glimpse of the upper falls through the upside-down V of the trees.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Like

  5. Greg Russell says:

    This is really quite nice, Steve, as the others have said. Glad to see you’re getting out. Like you, I haven’t had a whole lot to say over on my blog lately, and I also haven’t had the time to sit down and write. Soon, I hope…

    Like

  6. That’s a pretty falls. I agree with the others. Part of what makes the photo is the echo of the other falls in the background. Here in the Northern Sierra, Spring has been trying to happen but Winter keeps coming back to make up for it never having taken its turn when it was Winter time. Glad you’re back. No pressure now, but it’s almost time again soon…

    Like

    • Hi David. Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your kind words for the image and am sorry for your slow to take hold Spring.
      I can feel another post welling up inside of me as I writer this…and I’ll be by to visit shortly too.

      Like

  7. Pingback: 08.10.2013 Gunn Brook Falls two ways…two versions | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

