02.10.2012 Painted Turtle behaving badly

Here is an example of aggressive basking behavior in a Painted Turtle.  From reading, it appears this behavior has a few contributing factors such as temperature and time of day along with size of the individual.  Guess “there just ain’t enough room on this log for the both of us.”

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 02.10.2012 Painted Turtle behaving badly

  1. sandra says:

    I think they are in a argument! Excellent capture!

    Like

  2. If I were sitting on that log and another photographer sat down on it next to me, I might get aggressive too.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Greg Russell says:

    Nice image, Steve…there has to be a caption contest in this image’s future. 🙂

    I think the water lily adds some nice interest to the image…

    Like

    • Wish I had thought of a contest before this posting, Greg…great idea. Any suggestions? 🙂
      I vacillate between thinking the water lily is a good addition or a distraction. I think I’ll go with your opinion. Thanks.

      Like

  4. I agree with Greg about the water lily and the quality of this photograph. It is nicely balanced and most interesting as is.

    Like

  5. Office Diva says:

    Are you sure about the aggressive behavior? Perhaps the one on the left is simply yodeling; or yawning after a long nap? Asking his friend to check out his tonsils. Overcome with guffaws? Auditioning for the male lead in “Oklahoma”!
    [Are you tired of me yet??? Just saayyy when! ;O) ]
    Keep in mind, I only torment blog sites that I adore with my pesky humor. Luckeee duckeee!
    Let me know if I can help you with future captions. My little gift to you. Keep up the awesome work! Cheers!

    Like

    • Super! I like ’em all, Diva. Suggest away as often as you care to….I always enjoy a good caption whimsy.
      It could also be a bit of bad turtle pond invertebrate breath. Maybe if I added a few skulls and demons in the exhalation.
      I am indeed a Luckeee Duckeee. I am sure I will get more visitors now appreciating your good humor that now accompanies my images. Oh, I think I hear the ice cream truck.

      Like

Leave a Reply

