07.28.2011 A short visit to Northern Maine

I spent the past extended weekend in Northern Maine with my friends Anita Mueller and Mark Picard.  I had hoped for a few opportunities to photograph the mountains there along with a some wildflowers.  Unfortunately, there were mostly hazy days.  But one day did afford me the chance to shoot Mount Katahdin a couple of times.

Please click the image for a larger view.

Although there was a bit of haze on the mountain, the cloud clinging to the summit lit up very nicely.

 

 

 

Katahdin from Pockwockamus Pond.

Later that day, we tried a couple of spots, and although this is a very easily and often photographed vantage point, I like the bold clouds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Katahdin from Abol Bridge.

With thanks to Mark and Anita’s friend Phil, I also had the opportunity to shoot this Purple Fringed Orchis which I had not seen before.

 

 

 

 

 

Short trips still offer some fine opportunities…along with the pleasure of visiting good friends.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Landscape, Maine, Mountains, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 07.28.2011 A short visit to Northern Maine

  1. Number 2 is wonderful; well they all are, but number 2 really caught my eye.

    Like

  2. Thanks Frank. Yeah, after two hazy days I was lucky to get that nice sky and clear mountain. I’m glad you like them.
    Steve

    Like

  3. Greg Russell says:

    These are all really lovely images, Steve. I like the third one the best, but they’re all beautiful. Sounds like you made the most of your weekend–sometimes it isn’t about the images, but rather the experience.

    Like

  4. Thanks Greg. The weekend was definitely about the visit more than the shooting, but the shooting still matters and I enjoyed what there was. I also like the third the best, the others have their faults, but am pleased with all three. The cloud on Katahdin is special to me though as I watched it develop then fade. A nice experience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

