07.06.2010 Atherton Brook

Since this is a nature photography blog, I figured I should post a couple of shots after that brief personal interlude.

This past Sunday I revisited Atherton Brook, Gate 15 of the Quabbin Watershed, in Shutesbury.  This time, I hiked upstream along the brook until reaching Route 202.  The next stretch will be, hopefully, to the source which appears to be a small pond according to Google maps.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Quabbin, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.06.2010 Atherton Brook

  1. Greg Boyer says:

    Very nice series of images. I like the muted colors of the last image, just enough color to make you look twice. Hope you are successful in your quest for the source.

    Greg….

    Like

    • Hi Greg. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It will be a fun bushwhack. Kind of the opposite of the nice wide open views you’ve got out your way. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work.

      Like

  2. Greg Russell says:

    What Greg said. 🙂 They’re all gorgeous, but those really muted colors in the 3rd image make you take a pleasant double take.

    Looks like there are lots of compositional ideas here!

    Like

    • Thanks Greg. I toyed with the idea of going monochrome with the third, but once I saw the conversion, I decided to maintain the color. Subtle works occasionally. 🙂
      This has become one of my favorite spots throughout the seasons. Lots of great comps when things have iced up a bit.
      I’m glad you liked these and appreciate your comments.

      Like

  3. There’s a lot to like here. The “depth” of number 1 really caught my eye.

    Like

  4. jameshuntphotography says:

    Excellent series. I think the last was a favorite as it sort of zig zag design really drew me in though I liked them all. I’ve got to track this location down! Thanks.

    Like

    • Hi James. Thanks for the comment and glad you like them. It’s just.after the last curve going down Gate 15. You have to bushwhack down hill to a mini-waterfall that you can hear from the trail, assuming the brook is still running hard enough. Let me know if you want to meet up there sometime.

      Like

  5. Definitely pleasing images. I like the second one the best. I wonder if it were a bit lighter if that would ruin the mood. It’s great as is, the only reason I was contemplating lightening it might be to bring out the water reflection more if there is more there to bring out.

    Like

    • Thanks David. Always appreciate your comments. It’s definitely worth a go. I’ll try that out on the next time around with the image. There actually was more and maybe better reflection to the left, but also some pretty nasty downed trees that I needed to eliminate.

      Like

  6. Dave Runyan says:

    well done, Steve. i enjoy shooting cascades myself so in that sense, the compliment comes from a peer. these images of small Quabbin cascades are precisely the type of images which please my eyes. and precisely the kinds of natural features which i love to capture. glad i stopped by to look. i normally shot Briggs Brook (gate 14), but now that i’ve seen your shots, Atherton is also on my list of upcoming shoots.

    Like

  7. Pingback: 11.04.2014 More from Atherton Brook | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

