07.06.2011 Shredding

With all the identity theft and fraud these days, we pretty much shred everything that can be remotely tied to our names. The same was true for my mother-in-law’s papers. I just finished shredding the last thirty years of her life on paper. As I drew near the end the papers took on a new meaning and the last, well, it is the last of her on paper. She saved everything…receipts for repairs on the cars, the literature for household appliances, estimates for work on the house from thirty years ago, notes to herself, the medical bills and prescriptions as my father-in-law succumbed to esophageal cancer, and then her own bills, bank statements and investment statements

Unlike a lot of the humor you hear, I really cared for my mother-in-law, Marge, and, although only papers, the last statement through the shredder had an emotional symbolism.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 07.06.2011 Shredding

  1. Andrew Hardacre says:

    Very touching. I have been through a similar exercise for my own late parents. I found it extraordinarily difficult to part with anything touched by them. There are emotional attachments but also the social history that goes with the three score years and ten we are theoretically allocated. Even now, 25 years after my father died and 11 years after my mother, I still have scribbled notes, old photos, all sorts of things. But most used is my father’s M3. My mother seemed to have kept a lifetime of bank statements. That was a BIG shred.

    Like

Leave a Reply

