07.05.2011 The Holyoke Mountain Range from Mount Pollux

Yesterday morning I set out for Lawrence Swamp hoping to photograph Grass Pink orchids.  On the way I saw the Holyoke Range dressed in subtle yet colorful fog and changed my path for Mount Pollux.   I decided that, rather than just grab a wide angle shot, I would use a telephoto and stitch together several zoomed in shots to make a more detailed and compact view.  Although I’ve lived in Amherst for over forty years, I had never shot from this location before.  I’ll be back.  This should also look great in fall dress.

Please click for a much larger view.  I’m sorry if you have to scroll to see the whole image, but larger works much better.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Uncategorized, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 07.05.2011 The Holyoke Mountain Range from Mount Pollux

  1. 57andrew says:

    I look forward to the Fall shots – this has a beautiful sense of tranquility to it. An interesting technique to get the panorama.

    Like

    • Thanks Andrew. I’m looking forward to the Fall shots also…not to hurry the present by too fast though. I’m glad you enjoyed this shot and appreciate you stopping by to look.

      Like

  2. Greg Russell says:

    There’s a really peaceful quality in this image, Steve! I like it very much. Those clouds are really fantastic, and the format is great.

    I can imagine its sometimes tough to make compositional sense of the heavy forest, but it looks like you have some really great viewpoints to make this work well!

    Like

    • Thanks Greg! This was such a pleasant and exciting surprise. I’d never shot here…now I will often. Shooting in the forest is a big challenge. The valley when viewed from an open spot, though, does offer some nice opportunities. There’s another vantage point I need to visit that’s a bit harder to reach, but it’s on the list. 🙂

      Thanks again. I appreciate the visit and the comments and am very happy you like this.

      Like

  3. fantastic pan. Incredible view. must be awesome to be there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

