05.22.2011 Quabbin Gate 15

I haven’t really pushed myself very much since my blood clot issue, but I’ve been cleared for strenuous exercise so I decided to walk Gate 15 at the Quabbin.  I’ve never walked all the way to the water…I’m easily distracted by all the cascades along Atherton Brook.  So yesterday I decided to go all the way to the reservoir, full pack and tripod, and see how I did. It was a very nice hike in with lots of distractions that I saved for the way back out which is mostly uphill.

Please click the image for a larger view.

The water was covered with fog.  The echoes of Loons were the music for the calm, peaceful morning and it was a pleasure to just enjoy the solitude.

I had saved the spot where Atherton Brook passes under the road which is about half-way in the trail.  There is the ruin of an old hand-made rock dam.  I don’t know the history, neither book I look to for information mentions any details, but I would guess there must have been some sort of mill using the dam for power.  Just a small bit of the rock dam shows in the upper area of this shot.

Just before reaching the top is an old road filled with Bluets.  When walking the Quabbin, it is very easy to get lost in the surroundings, enjoying the quiet, the birds, the wildflowers and all the wonderful cascades.  What one loses sight of is that, at one time, this was a neighborhood with homes and small businesses that were dissolved for the needs of Boston to have more clean water for the growing population…..something that came to mind as I saw the news reports about the opening of the flood control gates along the Mississippi. The losses of the few for the greater good of the many.

The Gate 15 trail ends where this old road disappears into the reservoir  The island in the first image is most likely a bulldozer left-over from the construction that has provided a spot for trees and other plants to grow.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Quabbin, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 05.22.2011 Quabbin Gate 15

  1. Greg Russell says:

    First of all, I’m glad you’re able to get out for some walks, Steve. Just being outside can do a lot for us!

    Second, this is a really lovely set of images from what looks like a very productive walk. I like them all very much, and as I said over at NSN, the panorama of the island in the fog is really mystical. And, as always, you’ve got waterfalls pegged…beautiful.

    Cheers,
    Greg

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Hi Greg.

      Thanks. This is one of the places that I revisit often, but there’s always something new to see and even the same spots look different each time.
      Thanks for taking a look and commenting. Much appreciated.

      Like

  2. Frank says:

    I love the small cascade. Wonderful composition, shutter speed just perfect IMO for wonderful water, and nice exposure. Well done!

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Hi Frank. Thanks for the comment. I looked at some of the images on your blog and there are a lot of fine shots there. As you might imagine…I like your waterfall shots. Especially one…I think it’s Yosemite Falls between some tall pines.

      Like

  3. James Hunt says:

    I like them all, but the first shot here is an absolute favorite. The fog was really working for you. Definitely a fine art piece. That is an interesting walk. The walk back up the hill is daunting. Glad you’re doing better.

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Thanks James. Really…thanks! It’s great to hear someone younger remark on that climb back out. I’ll remember that next time when I’m gasping. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

