05.01.2011 A Weekend of Yellows

On Friday I met up with Tom Whelan at the Acton Arboretum for some flower photography. The Arboretum is a well-maintained with a very enjoyable wildflower trail. It was a good time (thanks Tom) and I hope we do it again.   Lots of nice flowers to be found, but one that I hadn’t shot before is the Wood Poppy.

Please click the image for a larger view

And something a little abstract

This morning I went to a reliable spot for Marsh Marigold and found a couple of views that work well.

So a bit of a yellow weekend, bright and sunny and, at last, very spring-like.


About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 05.01.2011 A Weekend of Yellows

  1. Greg Russell says:

    These are really pretty Steve! I especially like the intimate portrait in the upper right. I’ve been learning, over the last few springs, that macro photography is a whole other beast than landscape photography. You seem to have mastered both…

    Have a great weekend!

    Cheers,
    Greg

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Thanks Greg! It’s just the other way around for me…landscapes are more the challenge after all the time I’ve spent doing macro.
      A great weekend to you also.

      Regards,
      Steve

      Like

  2. jameshuntphotography says:

    Really nice work. I think my favorite is the first on the left. Something about it’s character pulls me in. If you’re looking for good flower locations at the eastern end of the state, you might also try the Tower Hill Botanic Garden in Boylston. I just joined and we’ve been impressed by the flowers for starters, but they are also very photographer friendly. The only rule is don’t let your tripod get in someone else’s way! Great post.

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Thanks James. That’s actually my favorite as well. But most folks have preferred the upper right for it’s more abstract quality.

      I have been to Tower Hill once. My wife and I went there for an orchid show several years ago and I do remember it being very nice. I should visit again.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Acton, MA: The Circle of Life, But Not in the “Lion King” Kind of Way « 351 in 365

  4. All four of these wood poppy images are excellent.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Like

  5. Pingback: 04.25.2016 Change of pace | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

