02.08.2011 Frosted Icicles and Cascade at Hop Brook

I have a tendency, either from love of place or laziness, to visit the same spots fairly often.  Hop Brook in Holland Glen, part of the M-M Trail running through Belchertown, Massachusetts, is one of those places.  Although the geology never changes, the water’s flow in warmer seasons and the ice formations in winter are ever-changing and often quite beautiful.

In the same spot where I photographed some gorgeous clear and very long tapered icicles previously, I found these frosty icicles with some nice silky water emphasizing their crispness and beauty.  The use of a polarizing filter allowed me to reduce the reflection in the water, thus making for a dark contrast for the bright ice as well as slowing the exposure so the water would have it’s silky quality.

Please click on the image for a larger view.

I processed this as a black and white image to take advantage of the nice range of tones from black water to white ice.  There was very little color anyway, so eliminating it allows  the contrasts to take center stage. It also is a combination of three images in a focus stack to keep the crispness of the frosted icicles throughout the image.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 02.08.2011 Frosted Icicles and Cascade at Hop Brook

  1. Anita says:

    Old is sometimes good! Very nice, A

    Like

  2. Hi Stephen! I had a peek on your blog and I really saw wonderful images taken with the heart. I love this series of images of water and icicles…It is evident you connected strongly with the subject, as the results are very strong images full of mood. You captured very well the spirit of winter in the magic of water. Take care and great light to you 😉

    Like

    • sggphoto says:

      Hi Raphael.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind words. You are right…I do love water and ice…maybe a bit too much. 🙂
      Great good fortune in all your endeavors and may wonderful light find you often.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 04.14.2011 Hop Brook Cascade | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  4. Wow great shots.
    I do the same.. I tend the visit the same spots often. Everytime I go bacj i see a different line, different clouds, I look for different compositions.. and ofcourse every seans puts it own lil twist to the whole landscape.

    Like

Leave a Reply

