12.27.2010 Adolphus Porter’s Keystone Bridge

Although I’ve visited Gate 30 at the Quabbin many times, I had never photographed this bridge until yesterday.  Probably could have chosen better light on a prettier day, but this works well enough in Black and White.

The handcrafted workmanship this gentleman practiced 144 years ago outshines today’s efforts by far.  Although it has never seen a big rig or constant traffic, I’d bet this could outlast most if not all of today’s modern bridges.

Please be sure to click the image for a larger view.

Walking along side the river, I noticed that the rocks looked like little mountains poking up through the water.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 12.27.2010 Adolphus Porter’s Keystone Bridge

  1. jameshuntphotography says:

    Very nice. Like the second image in particular. That side of the River is definitely worth exploration. I’ve added you’re blog to the links list on my blog.

    Like

  2. sggphoto says:

    It’s a little trickier on that side. I haven’t actually been able to walk all the way to the outflow. Lots of fallen trees. That stretch is one of my favorite spots for ice abstracts.

    Thanks for the link. I’ve done the same for your blog.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 11.11.2013 Porter’s Keystone Bridge-Gate 30, Quabbin Redux | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  4. That second picture is a nice abstraction, and it’s a good example of the fractal principle of a pattern repeating at different scales.

    Like

Leave a Reply

