07.08.10 Screw Auger Falls, Gulf Hagas

Here’s the first of a couple of entries from the trip to Northern Maine.

One of my goals was to shoot this waterfall.  Although there is the actual Screw Auger Falls here, there are lots of other falls and cascades within the Gulf Hagas preserve.  I didn’t take the time to do the entire 8 mile loop of Gulf Hagas, including the gorge known as the Grand Canyon of Maine, as I was a bit tired from the 90+degrees and the sun became strong as I was finishing here.  Another day.  And at another time, there will be a trip to the other Screw Auger Falls located a distance from this location in Maine.

Please be sure to click on the thumbnail for a larger view.

As you arrive at the falls, there is a preliminary falls shown here.

I was sorely tempted to try to get down to water level for a better perspective, but I wasn’t able to find a safe access.  Someone younger and more limber might have been able, but not with a full camera pack and tripod on board.

The main falls is quite lovely.  Here is the more traditional view with the pool at the base.  I shot these with a polarizer which is a great help in controlling the water’s reflective qualities as well as adding some depth to the colors.  As well, I used  a one-stop Neutral Density filter to lengthen the exposure so the foreground water would smooth out and the falls would get a nice soft silky appearance.

After getting that shot, I looked for a different view and crossed the stream and climbed a large rock to get this image with a small shelf cascade in the foreground along with some small colorful rocks for added interest.

Although I’m pretty happy with these shots, I am looking forward to a revisit another time, hopefully on an overcast day, when I can shoot here again as well as making the entire loop.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Maine, Water, Waterfalls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 07.08.10 Screw Auger Falls, Gulf Hagas

  1. They are really beautiful! See you will have to come back in the Fall!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 07.31.2014 Screw Auger Falls | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  3. shoreacres says:

    I’ve seen plenty of waterfall photos with a gauzy effect, but I’ve never seen one where the spreading of the water in the pool is captured in exactly this way. It’s really beautiful. Faced with a choice between B&W or color, I usually have a preference. In this case, each version has something to offer. I think they’d be great mounted side by side.

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda. I have a few images that have been treated in both and have thought about hanging together in comparison. Some photographers advise to take dull color and convert it, but I think often good color still works well converted as in this case.

      Like

  4. Difficult to say which I prefer but again this photo takes on a different perspective. I think I like the last photo here because I can see more of the rocks where the water is falling. This one to to me is the best one. But I did like the monochrome- there just not enough content in the pic.

    Like

    • As I mentioned above, I often roam around looking for several angles and, in this case, a return trip was not going to be very soon, so I tried a few and shard them here. I agree that the third has more to offer, but the second is more a portrait and what most people go for.
      Thanks, Yvonne.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

