06.06.10 Quabbin Park Hay-scented Ferns

I shot the first image back in 2007.  While I was pretty satisfied with the result, I thought three years might add something to the way I had previously captured this scene.

Here’s my shot from 2007.

Today under rainy conditions I got some different light and tried a slightly different composition, moving the birch in the foreground into the frame and a background maple off to the right as well as hiding a couple of trees.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Landscape, Quabbin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 06.06.10 Quabbin Park Hay-scented Ferns

  1. 'fish says:

    neat time comparision steve. for me the latest one has cleaner composition and better light and stronger color. maybe tone down or crop some of that eye-catching bright strip of ferns at the bottom. both are excellent fern shots :)))

    Like

  2. The second one is an improvement.Brighter and easier to see the fern. I like that one a lot. Have you learned how to do HDR? I see where quite a few photographers (flickr) appear to be using the technique even if they don’t own up to it. I will never use HDR for I don’t have the time nor the patience to learn it. This is when I wish that I were younger. Back to the ferns. What a beautiful place. I really like fern but stopped growing it because of the severe drought that we have had off and on over the years.

    Like

    • Thanks Yvonne. I have done some HDR and a few images on the blog were processed in that manner….such as the Crepuscular Rays. I prefer to not use that technique…mostly as I have not become very skilled.

      Like

      • I was almost certain that you do not use HDR very much. And, as you say, it is a technique that requires some skill or at least I would imagine that it does.

        I am not sure if I like all of the altered images that so many photographers are using. Most of the photos with HDR just do not seem real. On the other hand I think HDR can be used on certain photographs but that is my non-pro opinion which is to say that I probably am wading into territory where I have no business.

        Like

      • Yes, some people do go over the top with HDR. But there are a good many photographers who use it to reproduce what the eye can see through its amazing adjustment to the wide dynamic range we see in the world but which the camera is unable. I would like to get to that point and do try at times.

        Like

Leave a Reply

