11.11.2013 Porter’s Keystone Bridge-Gate 30, Quabbin Redux

I visited one of my regular haunts again yesterday-the old Orange-Millington Road also known as Gate 30 in New Salem.  An iconic old stone keystone bridge crosses the Middle Branch of the Swift River just a short walk in from the road and I posted an image a while back seen here.  It’s an amazing structure hand built by one man many decades past.  Here is another view, very similar, but from midstream, the fallen tree has been removed and in slightly warmer conditions….although my feet were cold as I discovered my boots leak.Porter's-Keystone-Bridge-111013-800WebThis bridge has been photographed numerous times by pretty much every photographer who has been here, I imagine.  I will probably shoot it a few more times myself in other seasons….and with even more water flowing….we’ve not had much rain in quite a while.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 11.11.2013 Porter’s Keystone Bridge-Gate 30, Quabbin Redux

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wow you really made the most of that Steve, excellent!

  2. Andrew says:

    It’s a superb composition Steve. Are the colours really as intense as I see them on my screen? It looks almost like an HDR.

    • Fairly close, Andrew. It had rained a tiny bit over night and the polarizer cuts a lot of glare off the leaves which helps give it some intensity and I backed off the saturation a fair amount. I toyed with the idea of monochrome but it seems a bit lackluster in comparison.

  3. Beautiful scene here. The old bridge is remarkable. The colors are stunning. I like the reddish brown agains the grayed rocks and the bluish gray water. This one I really like a lot. Gee this would be a great painting. Many of your photos would make lovely paintings.

  4. A classic. Stones of the bridge complement the stones in the steam. Well done, S.

  5. Sandra says:

    A beautiful spot, Steve! And absolutely worth returning to again and again, looking forward to more photos during the other seasons ;)

  6. quabbinite says:

    I’m glad that tree has finally been removed. It’s been a real hindrance to getting a good photo for some time now. Good job!

  7. Lyle Krahn says:

    You made that place look like a magical kingdom! That must have been quite the accomplishment to build that bridge.

  8. David Patterson says:

    Steve… reminds me of the Cobblestone Bridge in Acadia… though dare I say that this composition might even be prettier!

  9. Just Rod says:

    I am impressed with the depth of field and the composition. A very lovely scene. Were you wearing welly-boots?

Leave a Reply

